Fight Your Traffic Ticket in Fort Worth, TX

Fighting Your Fort Worth Traffic Ticket

Police issuing a traffic ticket

If you have been cited by either the Fort Worth police department or the Tarrant County sheriff’s office for a traffic ticket, you should take a moment and seriously consider your options. For many of us, there is a natural tendency to want to put the matter behind us as quickly as possible, and this may result in pleading guilty by paying the amount as assessed on your citation. However, depending on your particular situation, paying the fine may not be the only consequence. And what if you truly believe you were improperly cited? How do you fight a traffic ticket? Can you realistically expect to win? You can talk with a Fort Worth Speeding Ticket Lawyer, today.

Evaluate your Exposure before Just Paying the Ticket

Based on Texas’ Driver Responsibility Program, you are assessed points and possibly surcharges upon a conviction for certain traffic offenses:

  • Two points for a moving violation conviction
  • Three points for a moving violation conviction that resulted in a vehicle crash

It is important to note that theses points are assessed for either Texas convictions or out of state convictions.

It may seem obvious, but a moving violation is the result of driver malfeasance while the vehicle is in motion, as opposed to a non-moving violation, such as a parking ticket or a fix-it ticket issued to compel corrections of an equipment failure.

A $100 surcharge is imposed on a driver who has accumulated six points, and $25 is added for each additional point.

License Suspension and Insurance Issues

The Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your license if you acquire four or more convictions within a 12 month period or 7 or more within 24 months. Each insurance carrier is different, but you will almost certainly see an increase in your premium at your next renewal. Based on the nature of the violation and your driving record that increase could be significant, or you may potentially face cancellation of your policy if facts and circumstances warrant. For example, insurance.com estimates that your first speeding ticket can result in a premium increase of between 10 -15 percent based on how much over the speed limit you were cited for.

Defending Your Ticket Alone

For these reasons, and simply on the basis that you believe you are innocent of the charges, you may decide to contest the ticket. Although you have the right to retain counsel to represent you, most traffic court judges will allow you to represent yourself absent some unusual circumstance. However, your chances at achieving a positive result will depend on your ability to put together a solid legal case based on the existing law and the allegations of fact as reported by the arresting officer. For instance, each traffic code section has specific language that establishes the elements of a violation that you must become familiar with, and you must somehow place some doubt on the officer’s testimony. Remember, however, that the officer who issued the ticket likely has extensive experience as a witness in traffic court, and the judge is only interested in well-reasoned legal arguments.

What is Not Effective

Woman pleading with copy to get out of ticket

You have probably heard the expression that “ignorance is no excuse,” and that is most definitely the case in traffic court. If you maintain you didn’t know that what you did was against the law, you will lose your case. Similarly, saying, for example, that you were so distracted by a personal problem you weren’t paying attention will typically fall on deaf ears; the judge has heard it all. Additionally, although it may well be true that other drivers were doing exactly what you were doing but only you were cited, that is not an acceptable legal defense. And don’t even attempt to suggest the officer lied; if it comes down to your word against a police officer’s word, who do you think the judge is more apt to believe?

Consult with a Fort Worth Speeding Ticket Lawyer

An experienced traffic ticket lawyer understands how to attack the case against you and present the evidence in a manner most favorable to your interests. This may involve a thorough understanding of the equipment that was employed by the police in effecting the stop of your vehicle or a reconstruction of the scene to cast doubt on what the officer was able to see in the moments before you were cited. In many instances, even if a complete exoneration on the charges is not possible, your lawyer may be able to convince the court to reduce the charges or the fines and penalties owed to an acceptable level.

If your situation is such that a serious negative consequence may result if you are convicted, you should not hesitate to review your case with a knowledgeable professional.

Back to Top

No Insurance (FMFR)

First Offense

fine of not less than $175 or more than $350 (“economically unable” may reduce to $175) Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.191 (West)
FMFR

With prior

·       fine of not less than $350 or more than $1,000 (“economically unable” may reduce to $175)

·       2 years license suspension

·       Impound vehicle 180 days (must get 2 years’ worth of insurance for release)

·       $15 a day for impounded vehicle

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.191 (West)

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.231 (West)

following

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.262 (West)

Driving While License Suspended for No Insurance Fine $100 – $500; and jail for 72 hours to six months.

Second conviction – Class A misdemeanor.

Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.371 (West)
Failure to send DL or Registration after (FMFR) Suspension New offense – up to $200 fine Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.373 (West)
Handicap Parking ·       $500 to $750

·       With prior $500 to $800, and 10 hours community service

General Parking Violations Fine $1 to $200
Speeding Fine $1 to $200
Child Safety Seat ·       Fine $25 to $250

·       If deferred may order Driver’s Safety

No Seat Belt ·       Fine $25 to %50

·       If deferred may order Driver’s Safety

No Seat Belt for Child (under 17) Passenger ·       Fine $100 to $200

·       If deferred may order Driver’s Safety

Riding in Open Truck Bed (under 18) ·       $25 to $200

General Notes:

  • 30 days to appeal suspension. Tex. Transp. Code Ann. § 601.401 (West)
  • Points: 2 for moving violation; 3 for accident; exception less than 10% under speed limit (not school zone)
  • Surcharge for 6+ points for 36-month period ($100 for first 6 pts. and $25 for each point after)
  • No deferred for CDL Tex. Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art. 45.051 (West)
  • Commercial Drivers have many additional restrictions.

Back to Top

Fort Worth Ticket Attorney Introduction

Many may think that it’s no big deal in getting traffic citations, but obtaining any Class C Misdemeanor can have negative and long lasting effects on one’s future. If accused of a traffic violation, or any other Class C Misdemeanor, court costs and fines may be required for payment to the city (Fort Worth), there may be points on one’s record, Driver’s License Suspension could occur, and rates may increase on the person’s auto insurance.

Our lawyers regularly successfully fight citations in Fort Worth Municipal Court and other Tarrant County tickets courts. We have just a short walk from our office to the courthouse, and we are always ready to stand up to the city prosecutor and judges. Even though “tickets” are the lowest level of criminal offense in Texas, people suffer real and serious consequences. Unfortunately, the system makes it difficult for an individual to defend themselves. Practically every city or county herds people like cattle toward the payment window – either online or at the courthouse. Do not pay your fine or court-costs without speaking to one of our ticket attorneys.

If convicted too many times in a three-year period, the person’s citation or ticket would be on his/her record, and it is reported to the Texas DPS. And as a result, the person’s license may be suspended, or he/she could be required to pay the state’s mandated surcharge penalties in order to avoid license suspension.

Obtaining a citation is practically a formal summons for the accused to appear in court in order for him/her to answer the allegations. And if the accused don’t appear in court as listed on the citation, he/she could be issued a new ticket and warrants will be issued for his/her arrest.

Why It’s a Good Idea to Hire a Traffic Citation Lawyer for a Ticket

Since it’s established how serious the implications are with obtaining tickets, it will behoove anyone to obtain an attorney to handle these cases. At our law firm, we are fully equipped in handling all types of traffic tickets and any type of Class C Misdemeanor offense. Our lawyers have several years of experience with handling even the most difficult cases in this arena. And more importantly, we have several years of experience in regards to the city’s codes and regulations in FT Worth, TX. Most cities in Texas have similar guidelines; however, there are a handful of differences and complications in each city.

When it comes to tickets of any type of Class C Misdemeanor case, the implications could be really severe, and many don’t know how stiff the penalties and other punishments can be. Having said this, it’s important not to ever plead guilty before understanding the impact it will have on the driving record. Also, it’s important to hire a ticket attorney to consult and direct on the best options for each situation.

What You should expect from Your Fort Worth Traffic Lawyer

The attorneys at our law firm are fully equipped in handling all types of traffic tickets and any type of Class C Misdemeanor offense. Our attorneys have several years of experience with handling even the most challenging cases. Our record speaks for itself, and we can do the same for you.

When choosing us, we will explain all the options available for disposition or trial. We also allow our clients to decide on how we shall proceed. The choice is always the clients; however, we are here to help clients understand the consequences of those choices.

One thing to keep in mind is that a ticket is only an accusation of a violation. It’s not a finding of being guilty. It’s also important for the accused to know that they can obtain legal representation if the accused chooses to hire legal representation. You don’t have to accept the accusation.

Other Citations’ Information in Ft. Worth, TX

There are a plethora of citations besides speeding in Fort Worth, Texas that carry stiff penalties and other negative consequences. The following includes the details of these violations which would show why hiring an attorney is very important:

  • A stop sign ticket– a citation for running a stop sign is a summons to appear in court to answer the allegations. If the accused fail to appear at court on the date listed on the citation, he/she will be issued another ticket and a warrant for arrest.
  • No insurance ticket– also known as failure to maintain financial responsibility in which very serious consequences will show on the driving record because of that. There will also be serious consequences with the ability to hold a Texas driver’s license, and with auto insurance rates. It is required by law to have liability insurance for the vehicle. If convicted of this violation, the driver’s license may be suspended, and license reinstatement fees and state mandated surcharge penalties will amount from $350 to $1,000 in addition to court costs.
  • Expired registration or expired inspection– if convicted of either violation, the fine could be up to $200 in addition to court costs. Registered vehicles of Texas are mandated to obtain annual inspections. Also, an emission test is required in Tarrant County in addition to the inspection. There are, however, options when dealing with these types of violations: An Administrative Dismissal is allowed if different terms are met, such as remedying the inspection/registration within a certain time period, and other stipulations.
  • Using wireless device in school zone– Starting in September 2013, Texas implemented the use of a wireless device in a school crossing zone into being a traffic violation. If convicted, the fine would be up to $200 along with court costs. When approaching a school zone, a hands free tool should be used when engaging with a mobile phone or other wireless devices. A device that’s hands free could be a speakerphone, a telephone attachment, a Bluetooth, or equipment that allows you to talk on the mobile phone without using either one of your hands to communicate. And just like other traffic violations, the conviction will be on the driving record, and points will be added to your license. In this case, two points will be added.
  • No driver’s license ticket– this citation can put a serious toll on the driving record, rates in auto insurance, and the ability to hold a Texas Driver’s License. It’s required by law to hold a valid driver’s license to operate a vehicle. If convicted of this violation, the license to drive would most likely be suspended; and court costs, license reinstatement fees, and surcharge penalties will be required for payment.
  • Disorderly Conduct or Assault ticket– if convicted of this violation, you would be required to pay court costs, and up to $500. Simple assault is a Class C Misdemeanor in the state of Texas, that include the following stipulations: Recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally causing bodily harm to someone; knowingly threatening or intentionally threatening someone with imminent bodily harm; knowingly or intentionally causing physical contact with someone the offender knows; or reasonably should know the victim will find offensive or provocative: The bottom line is that the assault can be just about any act that is upsetting; therefore, causing the alleged victim to feel threatened or offended. This is a very subjective and tricky standard, because the act in itself doesn’t actually cause physical pain or injury. And as a result, the conviction may include the inability of obtaining a job, the inability of keeping or obtaining a concealed handgun license, or not being allowed to possess ammunition or a firearm. And furthermore, this ticket serves as a summons to appear in court to answer the allegations, or else, like the other tickets/citations.
  • Alcohol-related citation– if convicted of only one alcohol related citation, you may be able to expunge this record in some cases. Other than that, these charges can immediately cause suspension of your driver’s license for 60 days regardless if you are convicted or not.
  • Minor in Possession (MIP)/Consumption (MIC) alcohol or tobacco ticket– the alcoholic beverages code of Texas for defines minors as a person is under the age of 21 years old when the ticket was issued – police issue a MIP or MIP. The health and safety code of Texas means that a person is under the age of 18 years old at the time the ticket is issued.

    If the minor is convicted, the citation is reported to Texas DPS, and the driver’s license may be suspended for up to 180 days. Also, the minor would be required to pay license reinstatement fees and state mandated surcharge penalties which could be $250 to $2,000 in addition to court costs in certain cases.

Fighting your Ft Worth Ticket

Obtaining any traffic violation or any Class C Misdemeanor can have negative and long lasting effects on one’s future. When accused of these types of violations, court costs and fines may be required for payment to the city, there may be points on one’s record, Driver’s License Suspension could occur, and rates may significantly increase on the person’s auto insurance.

It’s vital to not plead guilty to any accusation before knowing your options, and the most proficient way to do that is through hiring an attorney. Let us help you resolve these types of legalities. With us, you can avoid the full extent of the negative consequences. Even with the worst case scenario, we can possibly reduce the impact for you. You have the constitutional right to hire an attorney- it’s your choice, and no one can deny you of that. Remember a citation or ticket is an accusation and a summons to appear in court to answer those accusations. You have rights, and you don’t have to be forced to plead guilty.

At our law firm, we are fully equipped in handling all types of traffic tickets and any type of Class C Misdemeanor offense. Our lawyers have several years of experience with handling even the most difficult cases in this arena. And more importantly, we have several years of experience in regards to the city’s codes and regulations in FT. Worth, TX. Most cities in Texas have similar guidelines; however, there are a handful of differences and complications in each city.

If you handle these citations on your own, realistically you could end up getting the worst outcome possible. Fines could be a lot higher than they possibly have to be (and in some cases, you may not have to pay fines if you have a ticket attorney), points on your record will increase, and insurance rates can skyrocket. You can also have your license suspended for a long time, and the only way to get them back is to pay reinstatement fees and other charges. However, our lawyers know the ins and outs of the law for the county, city, and the state of Texas. Our success rate and record speak for themselves, and it will be in your best interest to hire a Fort Worth traffic lawyer.

Additionally, driver’s license points are more important than some may realize. Every driver’s license in Texas begins with no points. But most violations of motor vehicle control consists of points’ penalty when a conviction of the violation occur. The points obtained as a result of the conviction will be on the driver’s record for three years of the date of conviction, and the points are removed after three years has passed since the date of the conviction. Additionally, if someone ever reaches six points in a three year period, he/she will obtain surcharge penalties.

As mentioned before, the citation is just a formal summons for court. However, failing to appear in court will lead to getting a new ticket and a warrant to be immediately arrested – failure to appear ticket. It is very important to hire a traffic citation lawyer, and we are there to serve!

When choosing us, we will explain all the options available for disposition or trial. We also allow our clients to decide on how we shall proceed. The choice is always the clients; however, we are here to help clients understand the consequences of those choices.

So contact us today- you will have the best results possible with us. We can also make the best of any situation for you.

SURCHARGE PROGRAM RELIEF TEXAS DPS DRIVER RESPONSIBILITY

Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) administratively assesses payment of surcharges based on many different driving or non-driving events. Drivers often find themselves buried under DPS surcharges and hopelessly wondering if they can ever get out. The surcharges are a part of a vicious cycle making it more and more difficult to keep a valid license and keep a tight household budget together. The effect gains momentum as unpaid fees, fines, and surcharges stack up, then a person can’t renew their driver’s license. Practically everyone must drive to keep a job, so unlicensed drivers end up with more tickets – more surcharges – the hole just gets deeper. How do you get out of the surcharge hole?

Ft Worth Commercial Driver Ticket (CDL) Attorneys

Commercial drivers deal with a lot of stress over-the-road or more local driving. Whether you drive for a commercial trucking company or work as a delivery driver, your livelihood depends on your CDL remaining valid. A valid license depends on keeping your driving record clean. Our ticket attorneys know their way around a municipal and justice of the peace court. We regularly fight Class C misdemeanors to help commercial drivers keep their jobs. This includes regular traffic tickets or CDL specific citations, such as overweight violations. How do you get a lawyer to defend CDL tickets?

Code Compliance Tickets in Fort Worth

Do not pay your code compliance citation until you’ve spoken with an attorney. How do I defend code compliance tickets in Fort Worth?